NES Honors Academic and Professional Achievers at 19th Annual Awards

ITANAGAR, Oct 24 – The Nyishi Elite Society (NES) celebrated a night of recognition and achievement at their 19th Annual Academic Excellence and Professional Achievement Awards 2023, held at the NES Research & Heritage Center in Richi Jullang on October 23rd.

NES President, Prof. Tana Showren, commended the exceptional academic performances of students, particularly girls, urging them to carry the torch of their community’s success. He also encouraged the professional awardees to maintain strong work ethics, upholding the community’s dignity.

Home Minister Bamang Felix praised the NES’s efforts and emphasized the significance of recognizing the contributions of past, present, and future Nyishi community members. He particularly lauded the girls’ achievements while encouraging the community to focus on improving boys’ performances.

In this year’s awards program, NES recognized 18 meritorious students, 57 officers, and 3 distinguished professional achievers from the Nyishi community. Notably, three distinguished individuals were honored for their professional achievements and social contributions, including Pige Ligu for his induction into the AGMUT cadre of IAS by UPSC, Tapu Gapak, IFS (Retd.), and former NES President, and Bengia Tabb, Manager, SBI (Retd.), and former NES President.

The 18 student awardees included the top three toppers in Class X and XII across Arts, Science, and Commerce. Additionally, six students who excelled in competitive exams like the Joint Entrance Examination (Advance) for admission into IIT courses and the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) for MBBS admission were recognized with certificates and scholarships.

The felicitated students in Class X were Sania Blange (95.60%), Taring Yajer (95.20%), and Kipa Janma (94.80%). In Class XII Humanities, Tamchi Nyakum (92.80%), Nikam Loffa, and Migom Kina (92.60%), along with Miss Bengia Yemin (91.80%), were honored as the top three.

In the Commerce stream, Tadar Jeinam (95.80%), Zenith Natung (90%), and Yangfo Yakar (88%) received recognition, while in the Science stream, Tam Sai (88.20%), Tarh Rinium (87.40%), and Nabam Ani (87.00%) were celebrated for their achievements. The JEE (Advanced) and NEET (Medical) categories included students like Tarh Haniya, Neelam Doin, Chukhu Nyia Loma, Tai Chumnya, Gichik Mumpa, and Langha Lawrence, all of whom were felicitated.

NES General Secretary, Heri Maring, offered insights into the objectives of the Academic Excellence and Professional Achievement Awards program in his welcome speech. Dr. Taw Ane Dipu, an awardee, expressed her gratitude to NES for supporting academic and professional excellence.

The event was well-attended by senior members of the society, Honorable Minister, MLAs, ZPC, former and current executive members of NES, members of ANSU and ANYA, awardees, parents, cultural troupes, and the general public.

Leave a Comment