East Kameng became Champion of Arunachal state level women’s football championship 2021

ITANAGAR, East Kameng became Champion of Arunachal State Level Women’s Football Championship 2021 by defeating Kurung Kumey by 2-0 in the final match played at Sangey Lhaden Sports Academy Ground, Chimpu.

Ato Tania Liyak of East Kemeng scored the first goal to break the lock and gave the initial lead to the winners in the 9th minute of first half. Stern defense of both teams denied any more goals to be scored in the first half to end it 1-0 in favour of East Kemeng.

It was a dream start to the second half of East Kameng when Manju Taku scored the second goal (41’) for the champions in just a minute of the second half.  Kurung Kumey players created few golden chances to equalize but could not find the back of the net in the later half of the match also. More blows came in for Kurung Kumey when one of their star players, Taba Sama was sent off in the 65th minute. East Kameng maintained their two goal lead till the final whistle to clinch the title.

Team Captain of East Kameng, Kapke Kamsa was declared Man of the Match as well as Most Valuable Player of the Championship for her inspiring performances in the Championship.

Jumbalu Tayang of Lohit was adjudged Best Goalkeeper while Techi Akung of Papum Pare became the highest scorer with eight goals in her kitty. Lohit was declared a Fair play Team  and Kurung Kumey finished as Runner Up of the Championship.

Almost all the district of state has taken part and the team of women college, Lekhi have played several matches from October 24 and the final match was played between the East Kameng and Kurung Kumey. The championship has been organized by Arunachal Pradesh football association of which the quarter final was played on October 31 and semi final was played on November 1st. The final match was witnessed by a huge gathering. 

The prizes were distributed by host of dignitaries which include  Director of Sports Tadar Apa, Sports Authority of Arunachal (SAA) Vice Chairman Tana Sanjiv, Arunachal Olympic secretary General Bamang Tago, APFA General Secretary KIpa Ajay and others senior officers of Sports & Youth Affairs department and other.  

Leave a Comment